The Cottage Grove Covered Bridge Tour Route
The Cottage Grove Covered Bridge Tour Route has seven spectacular bridges for you to view. Cottage Grove is know as the "Covered Bridge Capital of Oregon".
Dorena Bridge - Constructed in 1949 and restored in 1996, this bridge was built after the construction of Dorena Dam on the Row River, forming the present day lake. The Dorena Bridge once tied the roads on the north and south sides of the lake; now closed to traffic, the bridge is a popular wedding site.
Stewart Bridge - Constructed in 1930 and restored in 1996, this structure has semi-circular portal arches, ribbon openings at the eaves, and decorative S-curve brackets. The deep water below the bridge is considered one of the best swimming holes in the county.
Mosby Creek Bridge - Constructed in 1920 and restored in 1990, this is the oldest bridge in Lane County, and its one lane remains open to traffic today. The structure has semi-circular portal arches, ribbon openings on the roof line of each side, and, board-and-batten cladding on the exterior.
Currin Bridge - Constructed in 1925 and restored in 1995, this bridge features white portals and red sides. Currin Bridge replaced an earlier covered bridge built in 1883 by a prominent local bridge builder, Nels Roney.
Chambers Railroad Bridge - This structure was built in 1925 by lumberman J.E. Chambers to cross the Coast Fork of the Willamette from his sawmill to the timberlands west of town. It was used for seven years before the mill burned down. The bridge was rebuilt in 2011 and is open to pedestrians and Cyclists. It is closed to trains.
Centennial Bridge - This bridge was constructed in 1997 by volunteer labor to celebrate Cottage Grove's centennial. Materials came from two Lane County bridges that had been demolished. It rests on abutments of the old Main Street Bridge, which stood until the 1950's.
Swinging Bridge - Located a half-mile upstream from Centennial Bridge, Swinging Bridge was built for foot and bicycle traffic and was mostly used by children crossing the Coast Fork to get to school. The present bridge is at least the fourth built on this site. Earlier versions of the bridge could be made to swing side to side - hence its name!